280 Followers
319 Following
AH

AH@BadassBookReviews

Reading is my addiction... I read paranormal romance, urban fantasy, science fiction and fantasy, young adult, romance and historical romance. I am part of the blogging team over at Badass Book Reviews: http://badassbookreviews.com 

Deadly Straits

Deadly Straits - R.E. McDermott Deadly Straits by debut author RE McDermott is about terrorism on the seas. Imagine a plot to block the narrow straits of shipping lanes. What if the Panama Canal was blocked? The impact to the world economy would be devastating. Deadly Straits would make an awesome action/thriller movie. Spies, exotic locales, terrorists, conspiracy theories, rogue governments and more make it a compelling read. As I sat to read this book, I told myself I would read just a few chapters and move on to something else. Nu-uh. Did not happen. I could not put this book down. It’s easy to tell that the author has had a lot of background in his subject matter. What started off a little slowly for me quickly became a frightening thriller – more so because it could really happen. I enjoyed the way that the author described the intricacies of diplomacy and special ops. I was amused at the lengths the operatives would go to circumvent the edicts of a power hungry and ill-informed superior. One of my favorite scenes involved a group of Russian soldiers enlisting the main character so that their unit could be known as an official multinational strike force.Readers who enjoy Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler and those types of books would enjoy Deadly Straits. Deadly Straits is currently on sale at Amazon and B&N for $1.49 til Feb 2.Thank you to the author for a copy of this book.